Three doshas according to Ayurveda

  • 16 months ago
1 minute read.
Three doshas according to Ayurveda

Doshas are the forces that make the physical body. They regulate conditions of growth, aging, health, and disease. Normally, one of the three doshas dominates and regulates one's mind-body type. According to Ayurveda, there are three doshas Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. When all of these three are balanced, it is called balanced. This condition is favorable to well-being, health, and wellness. Though this balanced state is not stable, it always keeps changing. The Doshas will become either increased or decreased, both of these states lead to illness.

1. Vata
Vata is described by properties like dry, cold, light, minute, and movement. Properties of Vata are responsible for all movement in the body. Pain is the typical feature of unbalanced Vata. Some of the diseases related to unbalanced Vata are flatulence, gout, rheumatism, etc. People with dominant Vata dosha are generally thin and find hard to gain weight.

2. Pitta
It is characterized by heat, moistness, liquidity, sourness, and sharpness. Its main feature is heat. It is the energy source which uses bile for nonstop digestion and boosts metabolism. It is mainly characterized by body heat or a burning sensation and redness. People with dominant pitta dosha are generally of medium size and well proportioned.

3. Kapha
It is characterized by heaviness, coldness, slowness, tenderness, softness, and the carrier of nutrients. Kapha is the watery element. It is the main nourishing element of the body. All soft organs are made by Kapha and it plays an important role in the sensitivity of taste together with nourishment and lubrication. People with dominant kapha dosha tend to have strong, heavy frames, and having a good reserve of physical strength and stamina.

wellness corner app

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Register on The Wellness Corner

Recently Published